Was Tim Tebow worth it?

Watching Tim Tebow play football is not something that I enjoyed but no matter how poor of a Quarterback he is, it is impossible not to see how much of a winner he really is. I will not ever be a fan of Tebow as a QB and I do not think that he will have much success as a throwing QB, but the way he plays the game and his work ethic is very admirable. However, it would not be a good option to play Tebow on your Fantasy Football team because he will not ever put up good numbers. Even in College at the University of Florida, Tebow was a winner. During his College career, Tebow won the SEC twice, the National Championship twice, the Maxwell Award twice, the Davey O’Brien Award, and the Heisman Award among many others. During his time as a Gator, Tebow threw for almost 10,000 yards, and 90 touchdown, he completed over 67% of his passes and only had 15 interceptions. Even after all of these accomplishments and stats, Tebow was thought to be a stretch when Denver picked him with the 25th overall pick in the 2010 Draft. At the time, I did not think that it was a good pick and I still think that Denver made a big stretch to get him. With how poorly that Tebow had been playing, it is a big surprise how well the entire team has played to get the wins. This year Tebow is 6-1 as a starter, and he has turned around an abysmal start for the Broncos. The most frustrating part of all of this is that Tebow starts out playing poorly in the first few quarters, but then plays well enough in the end to get the win. I know that all that is supposed to matter is getting the win, but as a person who at one time considered himself a Broncos fan, I would prefer to see a QB actually play well as a QB. Another problem I have with this form of the Broncos, is that they are getting very lucky to win these games. Would they be getting the same luck if it were Kyle Orton playing QB instead of Tebow. I am not saying that Kyle Orton is a good QB, I think he just played the position closer to what I expect from a QB in the NFL. Tebow on the other hand does not play a good QB, but does just enough to get the wins. With all that said, I never have been a fan of Tim Tebow nor will I ever be.

One Response

  1. I think I’ve determined the REAL reason Tebow keeps winning. Surprisingly, it has nothing to do with luck, skill, tiger blood or divine intervention. Check out my thoughts here: http://foultalk.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

